top of page

Picmonic Anki Add-On

Picmonic Anki Add-On Anki is a flashcard program that is so popular amongst students - it is a great resource to help learn content, whether this be for exams or anything else! Anki is available for Windows, Mac, Linux as well as iPhone/Android.

If you have been a follower for a while, you have probably seen me using Picmonic to help me learn content from my medicine course. Picmonic now has an amazing new feature, the Picmonic Anki Add-On! I have recently tried this out and it’s such a great feature and

I can’t wait to continue using it as I progress through my course.

This Add-On combines the features of Anki and Picmonic to optimise revision and to assist the efficient learning of content. It works by detecting keywords in your existing Anki flashcards and then it pops up to show you the relevant Picmonics – you can easily just click on these which will take you over to the Picmonic website to view those resources.

The collaboration between these 2 programs is great to learn topics holistically, rather than learning topics separately. The new Add-On allows you to combine ideas together and make links between different topics, helping you to apply the information well and retain it long-term. I think this will be a great resource for me as I move into my clinical years of medical school to help me link ideas together and be able to utilise my knowledge for real-life application.

There are over 1600 Picmonics and 16,000 Picmonic facts available to be linked to your Anki flashcards! The Picmonic Anki Add-On is 100% free and doesn’t require a Picmonic account. All you need to do to use it is download Anki (minimum 2.1.0+) and then download the free Picmonic Anki Add-On by clicking here or following this link: https://ankiweb.net/shared/info/40737180

For a step-by-step walkthrough of how to download the Picmonic Anki Add-On, click here or copy and paste the link below: https://www.picmonic.com/picmonic-and-anki



Benefits of using Anki: · Active recall of facts · Utilises the principles of spaced repetition to help retain information long-term · Shows you daily goals · Can be used on Windows, Mac, Linux as well as iPhone/Android · Access to public decks · You can incorporate text, audio, video and images into your flashcards

Benefits of using Picmonic: · Proven to increase retention of facts · Quizzes that incorporate active recall and spaced repetition · Animations involving characters and stories to help memorise information

- You can speed up or slow down the audio on Picmonics

- Suitable for a range of healthcare students · Website and app





Benefits of using the Picmonic Anki Add-On:

· For any flashcard, get access to Picmonic animations, explanations and quizzes

· Support your learning as you can view the same content in different formats – helping to strengthen your understanding and memorisation

· Make links between topics

· Save time flicking between different apps

· Improve long-term retention of information



I hope this is helpful for anyone considering using the Picmonic Anki Add-On to aid their revision – I am definitely going to be utilising this resource as I move into the clinical phase of my medical course next month!

Best of luck with your studying,

Jasmine x

bottom of page