top of page

How to stay motivated to study


Even if you know you need to study to get good grades and reach your goal, it is hard to maintain motivation all of the time. Here are some tips that helped me to stay motivation during my A-Levels: 1. Write down your long term goal and the steps you need to do in order to get there. You could draw this out like a ladder, with different steps (I got this idea from @lydia.studies). If you are younger and not sure what grades you need etc, maybe look at uni websites to get ideas of this.


2. On a Sunday I plan for every day of the week, apart from the next Sunday. If I don’t complete everything, these go onto my list for my free Sunday- the more tasks I don’t do, the busier my Sunday gets and (apart from the few weeks before exams) I like to do a bit less work on Sundays and take time for myself so this provides the initiative for me to keep on top of my to do list through the week. 3. Keep connected with friends who have similar goals, you shouldn’t compare yourself too much but it can be good to have friendly competition to keep up with each other and if you start to slack off and you see other people improving, this may motivate you to try and improve as well. 4. To stay motivated whilst you’re already revising - sit with no distractions at a clear desk, use an app like Forest to stop you going on your phone, start a time lapse so if you stop studying the time lapse will hold you accountable. Some people use the Pomodoro revision technique, I’ve never tried this but this may be good if you require more frequent breaks to stay focused! 5. Make a vision board - including quotes, pictures related to your dream uni or dream career, but also other things that make you happy, then looking at the vision board should help to motivate you. 6. Keep all of your to do lists, or post them somewhere- I’ve been doing this (highlighted on my story) because I like to look back to see how much work I’ve done- if I feel like I’m not doing as well as I like, I will look back at the amount I’ve done which helps me to want to carry on as I know I have done it previously so I can do it again. I hope these can help you to be motivated to study and feel free to DM me on Instagram with any questions! x

bottom of page