top of page

How to start a studygram


I started my Instagram account at the beginning of 2018 to document my progress through A-Level revision and never expected my account would have grown so much! I’ve had some questions about how to grow your account and what content to post so I thought I’d share some tips! It’s not about the numbers (followers, likes etc) at all, I simply enjoy posting on here and on my Instagram to share tips and document my med school journey, but it’s great when your posts can reach so many people 😊


DECIDE WHAT YOU WANT TO POST Before starting your Instagram or even if you just want to change it up a bit, have a think about what sort of pictures you want to post. I like to post study/desk photos on my main feed and then share lifestyle posts on my story! Don’t feel like you have to limit yourself to one kind of post, and just post whatever you enjoy, but have a clear idea of what kind of content you’d like to share and who you’re aiming it at! Ideas of what to post on a studygram:

  1. Notes – I love seeing peoples notes photos, even if they don’t study the same subject as me! Whether your notes are perfectly photogenic or the complete opposite, I think they can always make a nice photo and shows your followers what you are studying and how you make your notes

  2. Desk photos – if you have a desk that you work at, this can make great photos with minimal effort! I like to see peoples work-spaces for inspiration, and it’s easy just to take a quick photo of your set up

  3. Lifestyle photos – even if you want to have an account based on work/notes/revision etc, I think it’s great to post some lifestyle posts too so your followers can see what else you get up to! This might be fitness, meals or even just showing what you get up to outside of work

  4. Study tips – I love sharing study tips to help inspire other people and I love trying out new things too!

Coconut Lane sell the prettiest stationery range (as well as phone and laptop cases, luggage, accessories and more!). Click here to have a look at the stationery! Use the code STUDYINGWITHJASMINE20 to get 20% off! This is an affiliate code which means I get a small reward for each purchase but Coconut Lane is one of my favourite brands and I'd never share a code if I didn't love it myself! #affiliate #ad INTERACT One of the best things about starting this account back in 2018 is that I’ve got to chat to so many amazing people! I really loved talking to other medical school applicants whilst I was waiting for results, as well as older students who gave me an idea of what to expect. I often get questions from GCSE and A-Level students and it’s just so lovely to be able to give advice to people as I was in that position once. Replying to comments and just genuinely interacting with other people on your posts can help to grow your account and help your posts reach more people. BE ACTIVE …but don’t put too much pressure on yourself! I think being active is great to help grow your Instagram account and just so people see more of your content! BUT, if you don’t feel up to posting or just feel like you need a break from Instagram, don’t put pressure on yourself to keep up with it. I was super inactive during exam season because it just wasn’t my number 1 priority at the time but I was fine with that 😊 If you do want to be more active though, I’d maybe think about a posting schedule so it just becomes part of your routine, and just take pictures when you can – even if you post them at a later date. PHOTO EDITING Everyone is different but I like to edit all of my posts the same way to keep a nice consistent feed! It took me a while to find the look that I liked but I’ve come across some good editing apps along the way. I like to take my photos when it is bright outside because otherwise, they’re a lot harder to edit, but I also try and avoid direct sunlight which gives lots of shadows! The apps I like are:

  1. Aviary – I just use this for basic things like brightness and saturation

  2. Snapseed- this is a great app because you can edit just small portions of the photo at once. For example, if there was a small dark patch that needed brightening but you didn’t want to brighten the whole photo, you could just edit that part 😊

  3. Moldiv – I use Moldiv to add text to my photos for when I post study tips! Many accounts don’t put text on their photos at all, but if you choose to then this is a great app. If you wanted to watermark your photos this would be a good option too!

  4. VSCO cam – I don’t tend to use this on my studygram photos but I use it for my personal Instagram sometimes and there are some really nice filters

  5. Instagram – sometimes I just use the Instagram app to edit too! I don’t use the filters here but if I just want to brighten the photo a bit more or edit the saturation, this works well

I hope this helped some of you! I would try not to think too much about making your Instagram account perfect or gaining followers, just use it as a way to connect with others and motivate yourself, and the right people will eventually find your account and help it to grow! Best of luck 😊 Jasmine x

bottom of page